skip to Main Content
Are You Consuming The Right Kinds Of Healthy Fats?

Are You Consuming the Right Kinds of Healthy Fats?

It might seem counterintuitive, but including healthy fats in your diet is essential for weight management.  The right kind of fats in your diet can protect your organs, help you absorb nutrients, provide energy, keep your heart healthy, and even help the body burn fat.  

So, what are healthy fats?  They are monounsaturated (MUFA) and polyunsaturated fats (PUFA).  They can help raise good HDL cholesterol and lower bad LDL cholesterol.  They help protect your heart against arterial plaque build-up and PUFAs like omega-3 fatty acids (like our Omega-3 Pro) actually boost brain function and strengthen immunity.

You can find these “good” fats in these types of high-quality, nutrient dense foods:

  • Olive oils
  • Almonds
  • Avocados
  • Nut butters
  • Flaxseeds
  • Walnuts
  • Salmon

On the flip side, there are also fats that you should be wary of and consume in moderation.  An easy rule of thumb is to limit the types of fats that are solid at room temperature (saturated fats), like butter, cheese and some vegetable oils.  As for trans-fatty acids, stay away!  These chemically processed vegetable oils are nutrient-void, and should be avoided.  They can be found in processed foods (talking to you “partially hydrogenated oil”), fried food, and some margarine.

By being smart about the fats you consume, you can actually help keep your heart healthy and embrace a slimmer you!  If you’d like to know more about our Garcia Weight Loss, click here.  If you’d like to request a No Cost Consult in one of our Tampa centers, click here.


Medically reviewed by Jay J. Garcia, MD on October 10, 2014

Back To Top